BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Advancements

Does a patrol admin approves an advancement and awards it or is there a setting that only approves and the advancement processor reliewes and awards

A Patrol Admin has the permissions to mark advancements as Completed, Approved, and Awarded. If the unit only wants Patrol Admins to mark items as Completed, then education usually works pretty well.

1 Like

Ok, can you please explain “education usually works pertty well”. I’m new to the Scoutbook and the new internet advancement site. I am the committee chair and do the advancement processing for the troop. Under the old system any rank advancements had to be signed off by the committee chair. It seems this is no longer required if a Patrol Admin can approve and award advancements. Could you clarify, thanks for the help

1 Like

Are you using Scoutbook or Internet Advancement? You only need to use one.

Hi, @BradfordFruge,

@JenniferOlinger is getting at the fact that a Patrol Admin (a position limited to adult Scoutbook accounts) can mark any and all requirements, awards, merit badges, and ranks Complete, Approved or Awarded in Scoutbook (except possibly Eagle). Any leader who has the permission levels to Approve in Scoutbook can also mark an item as Awarded. There is no separation of these permissions in Scoutbook.

“Education” in this case refers to creating, enforcing, and informing your leaders about a unit level policy that would govern who will mark Complete, Approve, or Awarded any requirements, ranks or awards.

For example, in my unit, each patrol has a Patrol Admin assigned in Scoutbook. We are supposed to, by policy, only mark rank and award items Complete or Approved. Merit badges are marked Complete and Approved by our Advancement Chair when she receives the blue cards from our scouts. All ranks, merit badge, and awards are marked Awarded only by the Advancement Chair or her designee according to policy.