Welcome! This forum has a treasure trove of great info – Scouters helping Scouters! Just a heads up, though - all content, information, and opinions shared on this forum are those of the author, not the BSA.
BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Advice/Benefits of holding off AOL advancement to BST

I am new to my current Pack, but have been involved in CS since my oldest was a Tiger. My currently Pack wants to hold off advancement of our AOL’s till May, I have never seen this done before. So I have two questions.

I already know all the benefits to performing advancement in Feb/March. What are the benefits of holding off till May to advance our AOL’s?

If my Pack decides to continue this tradition, and I don’t agree, is there a way for me to advance my CS without doing it with the rest of his Den?

I appreciate any advice as I am curious to the benefits of holding off, and I don’t want to cause waves in my Pack since I am new.

when you say advance @SkieBretana do you move from Webelos to the AOL year? or move to a troop? If move to a troop that seems like that would be rough - advance, BOOM welcome to summer camp.

As long as Scout is 11 or in 5th grade they can join a troop. Maybe not get AOL rank, but they can join a Troop.

3 Likes

@SkieBretana

And if the Scout is 10, they can join a troop as soon as they complete AOL. If the Scout has earned all of the adventures needed for AOL, this can typically happen as early as December. You could always move your Scout to a troop as soon as the AOL requirements are complete even though he has not been presented with the award.

I would talk to the pack leadership and find out WHY they want to hold off until May. Is it that they don’t want to present ranks before the last pack meeting of the year? This would be in violation of the Guide to Advancement which says awards are supposed to be presented as earned and not held.

4 Likes