Welcome! This forum has a treasure trove of great info – Scouters helping Scouters! Just a heads up, though - all content, information, and opinions shared on this forum are those of the author, not the BSA.
BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Break out funds by Scout

Does anyone break out their funds by scout or have a point system that I can see? I am new to treasurer and we have most kids that participate and some kids/parents that do not and i would like to reward/help the kids that do participate.

1 Like

Are you talking about scout accounts (careful, you could start a religious war :wink:)? Are you looking to incentivize participation? I have heard of units that implement a point system for volunteers. This can backfire as families fulfill their quota of points for the year, and consider their obligation to help complete. Personally I prefer to find ways to recognize those who help with things like a volunteer of the month award. You can use this to highlight a person who volunteered for the first time, or took on a more significant role.

1 Like

@BoyMom - what our unit does is credit fundraising toward due/registration. As an example $10 off per $100 sold. The avoidance of substantial benefit is what causes issues on scout accounts. If substantial benefit it starts the need for 1099 reporting.

Breaking it out by scout seems to be harder than i thought it would be. Someone mentioned a point system and using that at the end of the year to determine if say for example pay your recharter in full. The scouts that do not have enough points at the end will need to pay.

This seems like a good option. Thank you