I’ve been exploring the requirements for units to use social media to raise awareness and recruitment efforts. I found the Talent release option and thought that might be important for what I am interested in doing, but later read that this talent release only applies to scoutbook plus. with this in mind, I didn’t see any reason to have it set to “yes” and I tried to change it back to “no”. After changing the setting and clicking the save changes button, I get a banner/notice that the change was saved, but the radio button goes back to the “yes” setting. It would seem that this is a bug and something that needs to be fixed.
If you force a refresh of the page or clear cached data for any scouting.org sites, does it stay “yes” or does it revert to “no”? I’ve seen a lot of issues in SB+ where the cached version of something continues to be displayed even after the system has reported that the change was made.
@TimothyStevenson1 - as this does not cause operational issues I would consider this an extremely minor bug.
I logged out, cleared the browser’s cache, and closed the browser. I opened a new browser window, and repeated the process and had the same results. I also tried forcing a browser refresh using both Ctrl + F5 and Ctrl + Shift + R.
the other element of this - I am not even sure where that is reported or where a unit would see it
It’s reportable in the roster builder interface:
so units theoretically have access to the data, although whether they use it or not is a different question.
I would be more curious about whether it becomes a digital record used by council/national for whether or not the Talent Release has been approved. I recognize it’s not an immediate-functionality issue. However, I can see the argument that once someone’s face is out there (i.e. the purpose of a yes/no talent release), it’s not really recallable. If it’s based on an erroneous flag that can’t be reset, I can see someone getting upset about that.
Given the responses I received, I tried to simply remove his photo from his profile. The system will only allow you to add a different photo. There’s no mechanism/option to remove the photo from the profile.
@TimothyStevenson1 - the profile photo is not dependent upon the talent release. The only option once a photo is upload is to change it to another photo, image or background. My photo matches that which is my.scouting so in there is a trash can to the lower right of the photo.
I never said that the profile photo was dependent upon the talent release. There are two issues here:
1. With regard to the talent release, once changed to yes, a parent cannot change it back to no.
2. Once a profile photo is uploaded, it is stored on cloudfront.net and scoutbook plus does not have a trashcan to delete said photo the way that profiles on my.scouting.org do.
Even after replacing his photo with a placeholder, the photo that I had uploaded is still accessible using the url for the location where the photo was stored.
