Welcome! This forum has a treasure trove of great info – Scouters helping Scouters! Just a heads up, though - all content, information, and opinions shared on this forum are those of the author, not the BSA.
BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Concerns about High Adventure

Hello Everyone-

Is anyone concerned about the High Adventure Bases getting shuttered during the bankruptcy?

Our Troop is booked for Sea Base in 2021, and now that the bankruptcy is in-process, I have parents that committed to the Sea Base trip in January that want to back out now.

1 Like

What I have heard is that a non-profit cannot be forced out of business and the HA bases are essential to business so they are safe. The Norman Rockwells valued at around $750M will be the first to go I have heard.

2 Likes

I’m no expert in bankruptcy law, but that seems to be a major difference between chapter 11 and chapter 7. The BSA filed for chapter 11, which, as I understand it, is generally a restructuring of debt and not a liquidation.

A related question is whether the high adventure bases are in a separate legal entity from the National Council.

Worst case, If everything goes wrong from the BSA’s perspective, I’d suspect it’d take far longer than a year for it all to happen.

The above are questions I have as much as everything. I’ve taken tidbits of what I’ve heard and tried to piece it all together. I’d love for someone to correct me.

2 Likes

Probably, you should be more concerned about any actions the government might take to stop the spread of pathogens. Such disruptions in transportation might not be covered by trip insurance.

If an HA closes abruptly, you become one more creditor rather than someone who can contribute to paying back creditors.

4 Likes

I hope that one thing to come out of the Ch 11 filing and our new CEO, is improved and more robust communication between National and Council/District/Units. Communication is a big opportunity for BSA to improve.

2 Likes