Welcome! This forum has a treasure trove of great info – Scouters helping Scouters! Just a heads up, though - all content, information, and opinions shared on this forum are those of the author, not the BSA.
BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Convincing volunteers

I am the Cubmaster in our Pack. This is my first year as Cubmaster. I am also the Pinewood Derby Chair, the Blue and Gold Chair, our Pancake Breakfast Chair, the Outdoor Committee Chair, Wolf Den Leader, Assistant AOL Den Leader, Friends of Scouting Chair, and I guess since we don’t have one, probably considered the Assistant Cubmaster as well. I am doing something Cub Scouts related literally every day of the week.
There is a group of 5 of us who run everything. We each hold a handful of positions. We doubled the size of our Pack at a recruitment even last fall and are trying to get some of the new parents involved more.
We’ve approached a handful of parents with specific positions we think they’d be really well suited to, and each and every one of them has demurred because of the amount of work it is to become a volunteer. Hours of training, continual background checks, signed health form, cost of uniforms, and having to then PAY to volunteer are cited as reasons.
I also manage to find time to volunteer at the local food pantry and a local animal shelter. In order to volunteer at these organizations, I just have to let them know I am showing up.
I understand that because of past events, the BSA is trying to protect itself from future lawsuits, but lets be honest. A two hour online video isn’t going to stop a bad person from doing bad things. But why must the organization make it so difficult to volunteer? Do they actively want to discourage parents from partaking? Do they want to force Pack’s to let people slide who don’t want to/can’t get the training done (we have one Den Leader for our AOL’s who has refused to do any of the training he let lapse because it’s his last year)?