Welcome! This forum has a treasure trove of great info – Scouters helping Scouters! Just a heads up, though - all content, information, and opinions shared on this forum are those of the author, not the BSA.
BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Emergency Prepardness Pin for Tigers

I am looking at doing the Emergency Preparedness Pin for my Tigers.

One of the requirements is to take a national first aid course like the Red Cross. First Aid For Children Today. I checkrd the redcross website and found nothing. They are not offering trainings in our area. I can even find what is taught in this course.

Any siggestions or resources would be appreciated.

I have a friend who was a combat medic and spent 22 years as an er nurse and i s American Heart Association certified instructor who can teach the kids but we have no idea what they need to know to satisfy this requirement.

The Emergency Preparedness awards were retired on December 31, 2020. If you are able to complete the requirements, you my not be able to find the pins.

Good to know. Is there a place where we can find out everything that was discontinued. As well as what might be new?

Generally, I would expect changes to be posted under the Program Updates page here:

but it is not necessarily up-to-date with all of the changes to retired awards. I’m not sure if that’s by design, or due to reductions in staffing. That seems like a good place for BSA to share that sort of information with units.

2 Likes

I don’t know of a single place you can go, but if you go into a Scout’s awards page and select an award, it will indicate at the top if it is retired. Retired awards can be earned up to 1 year after they are retired, however, the award may no longer be available for purchase. Scoutbook will not allow a completion date past the one year deadline.

This is what you see if you click on Emergency Preparedness BSA Award Tiger (v2014)

1 Like