BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Parliamentary Law Explorer Post

Hello! Interest came up in another form about our explorer post. We are a Parliamentary Law Explorer Post chartered by the Missouri State Association of Parliamentarians. We study Robert’s Rules of Order, leadership, bylaws, communication, and how to run successful meetings of small, medium, and large sizes.

What questions can I answer for others who have interest?

1 Like

I’m a District Professional, so my questions are geared towards getting such a post started in my district.

Do most states have such an organization?

Who would be the person at such an organization to make contact with to talk about starting an exploring post?

What kind of people are members of an association like this? What professions?

What kind of activities does the Explorer Post have?

I would love to talk to the professional who works with this post if you have their name.

1 Like

I’m the Post Advisor (volunteer) and our Exploring professional duties are being re-designed (I think distributed) among council professionals at this time–our Exploring Exec retired.

I’m not sure if all fifty states have a state organization, but they are part of the National Association of Parliamentarians which also has “regions” across the US and Canada. If there isn’t a state association, I’m sure the region or national could connect you with a potential charter organization.

Contact person to start a Parliamentary Law Explorer Post? Heck, start with me and I’ll find someone in the area–if not a professional parliamentarian, at least a high school debate coach or county clerk or school board.