Welcome! This forum has a treasure trove of great info – Scouters helping Scouters! Just a heads up, though - all content, information, and opinions shared on this forum are those of the author, not the BSA.
BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Permission sharing photos

Does the AHMR photo release extend to the District and Unit levels?

The AHMR photo release lets Scouting BSA and the Councils use photos from scouting events. It also says that permission extends to Scouting’s representatives. Do the District and Unit count as those representatives, or is it necessary for us the unit Key 3 to get separate permission to use photos of our Scouts in our publicity?

I am not a lawyer, but saying the District and Unit are “representatives of Council” certainly passes the sniff test to me.

But, if you want to be extra safe, make up your own release. Or better yet, get a lawyer familiar with your state and local laws to do one for you. I bet you could find one willing to do it pro bono for your Unit as a public service.

1 Like

Districts are legally part of the council.

Units are legally separate and part of the charter organization.

The chartered organization representative represents the charter organization on the council and district committees. This person is also one of the key-3 leaders of units in their organization.

1 Like

It’s implied that no one should be taking photos of youth without parental permission.

Part A of the AHMR contains a section titled Informed Consent, Release Agreement, and Authorization and at the end of that section is a space labeled List participant restrictions, if any: That is where a parent would list a restriction of photos and/or video if they desire that restriction be in writing.

The form is not about the event or about any level in Scouting (district, council, etc) but rather the form applies to the youth, no matter what activity they are involved in. It also applies to adults who also must have an AHMR on file.