Welcome! This forum has a treasure trove of great info – Scouters helping Scouters! Just a heads up, though - all content, information, and opinions shared on this forum are those of the author, not the BSA.
BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Potential Problems with Parents as MB Counselors

I am a registered leader in my sons’ troop, and I am also a counselor for several different merit badges. As a teacher at a very small school, I teach English, history/humanities, and p.e. The subjects I teach qualify me for counseling a lot of merit badges.

One of the merit badges I am registered to counsel for is Personal Fitness. I am new to the troop (just crossed over with my younger sons last month), but I have been registered as a MB counselor since last fall.

There is another adult in our troop that has been the go to guy for Personal Fitness for several years. He’s beyond qualified and is a fantastic leader. However, he has had some other obligations the last few months and hasn’t been able to attend the weekly troop meetings for the last 4-6 weeks. I’m going to call him Mr. D.

Our court of awards is next week, so a lot of the boys have been trying to get partials finished up and signatures on completed requirements these past few weeks.

One boy in the troop had all of his PF requirements signed off by Mr. D. - except for the completion of his fitness plan. He asked me last week to sign off that last piece, so we went over his plan, his progress, what he felt the program did for him, and how he planned to continue his healthy lifestyle. I signed it off and he turned it in.