Welcome! This forum has a treasure trove of great info – Scouters helping Scouters! Just a heads up, though - all content, information, and opinions shared on this forum are those of the author, not the BSA.
BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Question about GSUSA Service/Awards

I’m fairly new to Cub Scouting (my son is in first grade and just completed his Tiger advancements to move to Wolf in the fall). I just have some quick questions that I haven’t been able to find the answer to via my council or Google:

I was an extremely active Girl Scout in the 80s and 90s and earned my Gold Award as well as all of my religious awards. (seriously…if I could earn it, I pretty much did it…I was one of those kids!) I’m sure I’ve misunderstood the documentation that I’ve read, but am I allowed to wear the religious knot on my adult uniform as recognition of my past accomplishments? I realize that, currently, the only way I can recognize my Gold Award is limited to Venture scouting, but I thought I read somewhere that religious awards (since they are based on the same curriculum) are applicable as adults?

Also, I had the honor of representing my council on a (Wider-Ops) trip to England and Ireland as a Girl Scout. While there, we toured (and earned) the Robert Baden Powell House neckerchief slide and patch. While I believe the patch doesn’t qualify for transfer, could I wear my slide? At the time (before eBay and the like), you could only wear the slide if you had been to the site in person.

Thanks everyone! Yes, I’m very proud of what I accomplished in GSUSA, but, obviously, my son can’t join, so I’m very proud to now be a Scouts BSA leader!

Laura

1 Like