BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Scouts individual accounts and use/tracking of funds

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Scouting and have stepped into a treasure role with my son as a new Wolf. This year is the beginning of our first year together and we are just about to wrap up Popcorn sales next week. Part of what was agreed upon was that a percentage of the sales commission would be used for Pack expenses/events and the remained held for scouts to use for Scouting expenses (Uniform, Scout Handbook, or events). We already have a family that is looking to use those earned funds towards the purchase of a uniform. Writing someone a check is out of the question, so how can we make sure that the funds that are being used are only for said item, ie. uniform? How are others doing this. Also, right now we are keeping track of all the Scouts “credits” per-say in a spreadsheet ledger. How is everyone keeping track of what credits are “consumed” by the scout? Another ledger or transaction sheet?

Sorry for all the questions. This is all very new to me. :slight_smile:

Thanks,
Ken

I can only go from my experience. First off this is an IRS NO NO. As they are gaining benefit but not paying taxes.

That being said. My unit only allows use of the funds for Unit Camping, National Events, or Scout Training. Like you said, getting into Dues, Uniforms, Books, gets messy real fast.

We use Quickbooks to track these funds, and update Scoutbook Payment log periodically to info families.

@DonovanMcNeil Thanks for the quick response.

That is kind of how I feel also. IRS is not something I want to deal with.

I had noted though, reading the BSA Product Sales Guide states:

“Unit funds may be used to reduce the cost of participation, including
the cost of attending camp or obtaining uniforms. They may be used to provide financial
assistance or awards to individual Scouts based upon their level of participation generally or