BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

Scouting Forums

Summer Camp Ideas

We just got back from Camp Alexander in Colorado and are looking for ideas for next summer so I thought I’d ask everyone what their favorite summer camp is. We are in Texas so we aren’t really looking for anything in Texas but elsewhere so the scouts can widen their horizons.

Years ago (as a scout) I used to go to Salmen Scout Reservation in Mississippi (Southeast LA council, used to be NO Area Council). I always loved it, but I haven’t been back since I was a youth.

As a college student, I did work with APO helping out at Camp Resolute in Massachusetts. It seemed like a great place, but we were never there with the scouts, mostly doing off-season maintenance.

Our scouts seem pretty fond of several of the summer camps out here in California:

How far are you willing to travel? Erie Shores Council has a great summer camp program at the Pioneer Scout Reserve near Toledo, Ohio…

1 Like

We haven’t set a distance, just trying to get suggestions and then will look at them.

Unlike taking a family vacation, I’m not a fan of changing scouts summer camps on a regular basis.
I think something is lost with frequent changes. The sense of tradition, belonging and memories gets muddled.

A first year scout is amazed by the unknown experience, when the scouts returns the second year the scout is more in control of his environment, the program and develops staff relationships. The opportunity for leadership starts to develop. By the 3rd year +, the scouts owns the program & the setting and can focus on becoming a much stronger leader. They know the camp, they know the staff, they know what to expect. By periodically changing such a significant variable you’ve added another hurdle for scouts to naturally grow and develop into strong leaders. The leadership growth naturally happens without the scouts thinking about it.