Duplicate Scouts in unit report export but not in the roster

When I look at the Roster in SB+, the youth appear correctly grouped by patrol. However, when I run a report (SB+ Reports > Quick Export > Scouts/Members) or from a saved “My Report”, some youth appear twice. The difference between the duplicate lines appears to be Patrol Name. I’ve looked at parent/guardian relationship, different spellings of last names, etc. but everything appears to be the same.

For example, for this Scout Member ID, she shows up two times, one with a patrol name, one without a patrol name:

14376788 Troop 54
14376788 Troop 54 MS Patrol 1

Here are some additional duplicate Scouts in my Unit Roster Export:

12544653
12985594
10138601
9803382
8684491
12480758
12704788
12392168
2562111

I am not sure if I need to worry about this because I don’t see the duplicates in the My.Scouting.org Roster or in the advancement records, but it is very annoying to have these duplicates show up in all the reports. I have to manually delete them. Any idea why this is happening?

@ShirleyHou is it all that MS Patrol 1? and that patrol does not show in SB+?

Hi Donovan, the MS Patrol 1 shows up in SB+. The duplicate girls are in MS Patrol 1, FCT Patrol 1, FCT Patrol 2, etc. basically, they are all in a Patrol, and for some reason they are listed again without a patrol.

Here is a new clue: I went into Scoutbook Legacy, and all 42 girls who are duplicate in the unit reports appear in Scoutbook Legacy under “Scouts not in a Patrol” although they are most certainly in a patrol!

OK that answer part of the question - you are using Legacy and SB+? Do not even TOUCH Legacy unless you have to.

Did you add to patrols in Legacy or in SB+??

I added Patrols in SB+. I know not to touch Legacy!

Every fall we create re-form patrols. Last year, let’s say my Patrols were A, B, C, D last year and this fall I have X, Y, and Z. I did a mix of both methods in SB+ to move the Scouts around: I either renamed A to X and reassigned Scouts in SB+ by editing the Patrol, or I created a brand new patrol Z, added Scouts into Z, and deleted them from their old A, B, C patrols.

I’m wondering whether the way I reshuffled Scouts in SB+ caused a sync error with Legacy (even though I am not doing anything in Legacy).

yeah it happened 7/20/26 - it just should not have happened. Kind of say delete effected patrols, and make new ones. then add the scouts.

Right now the scouts have a troop and a patrol membership. So if you delete the patrol - the patrol membership ends. Then make a new patrol and add scout then the membership will go from Troop to patrol.

You would have to do in that order, delete old patrol, make new and add. If you Add new patrol and add scout before you delete old patrol, they would end up in 2 patrols, and the troop membership would also remain I think.

OK! I learn something new every day! I’m thinking of deleting all 8 patrols, waiting a day, and then creating brand new patrols and adding Scouts. Do you think the forced wait time will help SB+ catch up?

Related question - I am still assigning adults to certain patrols because those ASMs should only have permission to checkoff rank requirements for youth in their patrol but not other youth in different patrol. I want to confirm that assigning adults to the patrol in this manner (and they have the position role of ASM in Permissions Manager), will accomplish this intent.

Thank you so much Donovan.

@ShirleyHou BUT I think there is a bug as I test things - trying to figure something out

@ShirleyHou But this is not harming the scout or unit - it is just annoying

Adults to Patrols - kind of yes. Assigning an ASM to a patrol just attaches them to a patrol. ASMs have no Advancement Permissions. I need to look at assigning permissions just to the patrol, has been a while sense I messed with them.

I think you can limit it this way using the Subunit Support functional role/permissions in SB+. That also gets subunit calendar editing and profile access for the scouts in the patrol (IIRC).

Yeah - the sub-unit support would kind of do it - they would have Edit advancement but not approve.

Donovan, I’m going to proceed with dropping all the patrols and starting fresh this weekend. If you find a reason why I shouldn’t, let me know. I’ll post an update afterward to share how things go.

@ShirleyHou with my testing I think the same thing is going to happen again

Donovan, is there a way to clean up the duplicate memberships on the back end? Or if this is a bug and will be logged, I’ll leave it be and wait for a fix. Thank you.