Many duplicate scouts in roster exports, causing errors when trying to remove from patrols

Hi team,

We’ve got 52 scouts on our roster that are listed both in their correct patrol and in no patrol in our exports (Scoutbook±>Reports->Unit Reports->Quick Export->Scouts/Members). I assume this is the cause of errors like: “The given userId already has the Scout BSA position in the given unit - userId: 10507053 - unit: 1F684B42-AC43-4743-834F-6F8CE16FF8E3”

Some sample bsa ids of affected scouts are: 136591915, 136591883, 137474316

I can give the full list of ids if needed. I am also ok if you can help me delete all the patrols (if this will get rid of duplicates) and I can recreate all the patrols in SB+ (these patrols were all created long ago in the old SB).

Exact sequence of actions to get the above error:

  1. Navigate to Roster view in SB+
  2. Select Edit in blue patrol header row
  3. Click x next to scout’s name in Scouts in Patrol section
  4. Select Save and Close
  5. Receive error message, and scout remains in current patrol

Please let me know if there’s any way I can fix this on my side

@PaulVirdone - in order to delete the patrol you would need to remove all scouts and adults if any from the patrol then it can be deleted. Were the patrols being managed in legacy or in plus ?

The patrols were previously created and managed in the original SB. Now that the old SB is legacy, we’re doing everything in SB+.

We can’t delete the patrols, because we can’t remove the scouts from them without an error message.

@PaulVirdone - how recently were you managing the patrols in legacy ? You can try to create new patrols and attempt to move the scouts to the new patrols.

I just tested this:

  1. I created a new patrol, added all the scouts from one of the legacy patrols to the new patrol.
  2. I removed all the scouts from the legacy patrol.
  3. I deleted the legacy patrol.
  4. I still get an error message if I try to remove an affected scout from the new patrol

We were managing patrols in SB (not +) at least in 2025, if not in early 2026. Never since the url was changed to legacy though, as far as I know

This is part of an issue that was reported on Friday. Watch the change log for updates.