Youth Attendance in Scoutbook

We have been using the Scoutbook calendar feature for a couple of years now and are just trying to move to having the youth Scribe take attendance. I understand this capability should also be available to the SPL, ASPL, Troop Guide, and Webmaster.

I am a troop admin/Advancement Chair, and my son is ASPL, so I am trialing the system so I can provide good instructions to the scouts. Earlier today, I was able to take attendance and it went pretty smoothly. However, just now, I logged in as my son on our Scouting app, and I couldn’t even see the events, so I am wondering if I may have been logged in as myself by mistake.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what to try? There are dozens if not hundreds of events in our troop calendar. Nearly all list invitees, and he certainly was invited to the campout I used earlier as a test case.

Also, we are trying to track adult participation as well. Does anyone know if adults need to have accepted their Scoutbook invitations to show up in the list to be marked as present?

Last, can someone suggest where to make two related feature requests? First, it would be helpful if adults and scouts were not intermingled. And second, many of our scouts go by nicknames, so it would make more sense for them to be listed by the nicknames they regularly use rather than their given names.

Thanks!

1 Like

The Scribe can also take attendance. We’ve used this in the past in our Troop without problems.

Taking attendance in the Scouting app is time-limited; if I remember correctly you can only take attendance with the app during the event and immediately afterwards (maybe an hour? after the event ends). Adults with appropriate access can always edit attendance directly in the Scoutbook calendar from a web browser.