How to connect MBC who is also SM/ASM to Scout

I’m an ASM and an MBC in our Troop. I am an admin as well. I am connected to all Scouts in the Troop as admin/ASM. What is the correct process to follow when a Scout starts a MB I counsel? If I try to “connect” to them as MBC, it breaks the ASM/admin connection

Thanks.

Have you tried going to the [Scout]'s Connections page and adding the MBC connection there?

Gary,

How have you tried to make this MBC connection? Has your council uploaded the MBC list? You can look at your MBC position in My Positions. If it says “Approved by X Council” then the council uploaded the list.

Hi, @GarySegal,

What had worked for me in the past is:

Go to My Dashboard → My Account → My Connection → <Scout’s Name> → Scout’s Connections

or

My Dashboard → My Units → Unit Roster → <Scout’s Name> → Scout’s Connections

Then, assuming that the scout has already “started” (in Scoutbook) the MB for which I will counsel them, I modify my connection to include “Merit Badge Counselor” and select the correct badge.

If they haven’t started the badge yet, I add the badge by going to

My Dashboard → My Units → Unit Roster → <Scout’s Name> → Scout’s Advancement → Start Another Merit Badge

I select the badge, then “Lookup/Invite counselor” to add myself.

That worked fine for me just now on a test case.

Woops, didn’t mean to post this in the “bugs” section. My apologies. If an admin wants to move this thread, please do so.

Ed: I’m already in the system as a counselor for the badge.

The question is how to create the MBC link without breaking the ASM/admin link.

Charley: I tried that. It breaks the ASM/admin link.

When the link is broken, I can no longer manage anything other then badge in question for the Scout. Since I’m an ASM, I need be able to do that as well as manage the badge.

When the ASM/Admin link is broken, I can fix it by the following path:
Home->My Account->Edit Profile->My Positions->Troop Admin->click Update