Missed removing a scout and recharter already submitted

Hi everyone. We missed removing a scout from our recharter- he moved away in the summer and I don’t believe he’s in scouting at all currently. I’m the committee chair and it is my first year in this role. Same with our Cubmaster. Recharter was completely new to both of us. Everything has been submitted. Our local council says they cannot do anything. What can be done so that we aren’t paying $72 for a child who is no longer in scouting? Or how can we get our money back?

Part of our popcorn rewards were that if a child sold $1000 in popcorn, the pack paid their recharter fee. So our pack paid for about 75% of the kiddos- which was great and made this an easy process, but I think it also contributed to this getting past us.

Thanks
Brooke

Council might be able to reset the whole recharter for the unit - not sure after payment though. otherwise they just remove scout with no refund

I called council this morning and no one seemed to really know. This was prior to payment. They basically said they cannot do anything once it’s been submitted and that we would have to request a refund at the national level.

When you say “this was prior to payment”, do you mean you chose council check payment and NOT echeck or credit card? Our council said if you did council payment, they could intercede before full posting and thus could have some flexibility.

If you did echeck / credit card, you may be out of $72.

Yes, we chose council payment. But once they told us they could not do anything, payment was made with cash at the scout office this morning.

I don’t know what can be done at this point, but I would recommend asking your council to submit a help request to National.