Parents cannot see the scouts in their family

I have some parents, not all, that cannot see the scouts in their family. I am in email communication with one of them, and I asked her to login, click on the pack name, then click on “Pack Register” and scroll to find her son’s name, and refresh the connection in his profile, as I saw recommended in the Scouting App Forum, thinking that was the problem.

However, she replied that when she logins in, the only thing she sees on her Dashboard is the Council name. She doesn’t even see the pack listed. I know that I added her to the pack, because I see her name listed on her son’s profile. Not every parent is having this problem only some. I am new to Scoutbook and have no idea what is causing this problem.

Hi, @StephanieWorden,

Only registered leaders in the unit can see the unit roster, I believe.

A couple of questions:

1. Are the parents in questions current or former registered adults in any BSA capacity (e.g. leaders, merit badge counselors, etc), have they taken YPT, or did they register using the online form? Any one of these (definitely the first two and possibly the last one) will generate a BSA ID which may cause complications with login.

2. Are the parents logging in with their email addresses or their my.scouting logins?

3. When you look at the scouts’ accounts via the unit roster (My Dashboard → My Units → Unit Roster → Scout’s name), and scroll to the scouts’ connections for these parents, do the parents show up with a little closed link next to their names as in the snapshot below, or is it a broken link?

4. When you then scroll down and click on “Scout’s name’s Connections” (snapshot below), do the parents show up as pending (second snapshot below)?

This might indicate that something happened when accepting the invitation to connect to their scouts, either on the user side or on the code side.