Scoutbook Redesign Plans?

Hello, this is my first post. I am a parent, as well as treasurer and popcorn kernel of our troop.

I am curious if there are any plans for a re-design of the Scoutbook website. The user interface is antiquated and it is difficult to know where to find things. I am a very tech-savvy individual, and every time I login to Scoutbook, I get frustrated. Why is my scout’s name not on the very front page? As a user, I have to guess what to click on, and it takes three clicks before you even find the scout’s profile. I find that I am always unsure where to click and often my first try ends up wrong. Even once I get into his profile, knowing where to find everything else is a challenge, too.

With the world being online now, there are so many ways to make a website simple to navigate – this one really needs help! I will not go on and on complaining here. I am, however, willing to provide detailed feedback if someone who is doing the work is interested. I would also be willing to volunteer to help in some capacity.

I am very happy that so much can be done online with Scoutbook, and I fully support online tools. However, the website is very clunky. I think more parents (and scouts) would engage with the system if it were re-designed.

Thanks!

6 Likes

@KristiBorowy - perhaps some screenshots and mark ups

These may be helpful:

Hi Stephen,

I’m not sure if I am inserting screenshots correctly, but I will try. I don’t think markups would be very useful because I would have to draw a whole new screen, but here are some thoughts:

The first screen you get when you login to the site (screenshot below, hopefully) is very utilitarian and there is no indication of where to go to get to my scout’s profile. Yes, “My Dashboard” seems like a logical guess since it’s at the top, but as a first time user, I might also think “My.Scouting Home Page” might be the place to look for my scout’s info – or even “Directory”.